Daily Bible Reading in Greek and Hebrew


In the beginning textOne of the changes I made in my daily Bible readings this year is to include Greek and Hebrew readings on a set schedule. My plan is to read the Gospels in Greek this year and Genesis in Hebrew. I have taken both languages in college, and I have tried to stay with them through the years. I would not say that languages come naturally to me; it requires quite a bit of work in grammar review and vocabulary study. Including them in daily readings provides a way to read portions on a regular basis. My hope is to read a grammar alongside it as I come across difficult conjugations, parsing or syntax.

For Greek, my schedule includes the Gospels, and for Hebrew, I plan to read through Genesis. I am reading both on Logos for the most part, so that I have quick access to unknown vocabulary and parsing. I have also become a big fan of “Reader” Bibles (Greek and Hebrew), which I have tried to use at church and readings away from my computer. These bibles provide footnotes for vocabulary that occurs infrequently. It basically keeps you from having to stop and look up each unknown word, which can drastically slow down and discourage regular reading. The Reader’s Hebrew Bible provides words that occur less than 100 times and the Greek edition provides vocab that occurs less than 30 times. This also provides a reasonable goal for learning vocabulary in each language, at least tackling the “frequent” vocabulary.

I know that many people have not studied Greek or Hebrew, but I am surprised at the number of people that I come across who have studied them. I would be interested in hearing how others are sticking with these languages.

Gallery | This entry was posted in The Bible and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Bible Reading in Greek and Hebrew

  1. Douglas R says:

    I learned a little bit of Hebrew – mostly pronunciation but not translation when I was a child but as an adult I always look up the meaning of scriptures with context from concordances and Greek and Hebrew dictionaries and word study books.

    I always wished there were a word for word translation that always used the same word. I find it a little confusing when 1 word in Greek or Hebrew is translated as up to 100 sometimes unrelated English words or visa versa – up to 100 Hebrew or Greek words as one English word. Well, I found a group attempting it and though I see why it hasn’t been done and understand translators were trying to get the true meaning across I learn a lot from reading the attempts.

    The link to the word for word translation in progress called “The Chronicle Project” – http://thechronicleproject.org/

    If you’re interested I’m exploring a revelation I had about the Bible as a way to understand the meaning of it. My own website is http://www.backwardwalk.com/

    • Jeremy says:

      Hello Douglas. I certainly understand the frustration. It is really helpful to see the connections in words in a passage, and that’s hard to see in English when the same Greek word is translated with two different English words OR one English is used for two Greek. I’ll have to check out the chronicle project. The similarities (in reverse) between the OT and the NT also has many fascinating facets to it. Very interesting. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

