Get Out There and Vote!


It’s that time. You will not be heard unless you vote. The options are clearly establish, and the stakes are high. That’s right, you have an opportunity to help me win the Book Spine Poetry contest by voting for The Church and Chicken Soup and/or A Little Exercise (you can vote for both). Today is the last day of voting.

So, I have been a little bit absent from blogging lately. A heavy preaching load and a shorter turn-around time for class preparation have kept me busy. At church, I’m tackling Part 2 of 3 in my study of the Minor Prophets. I’ll be teaching Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah and Obadiah, and it has consumed much of my time lately.

My other news concerns school. Due to some slight modifications in the requirements, I will be able to graduate this December with my M.Div. degree from Lipscomb University. All that is left is my Comprehensive Exam in November. Originally, I had planned to finish up with a final project in Old Testament Law. I still may try to pursue that, but it will not be part of my degree program.

I have been going to school for 9 years, taking a class nearly every semester, so this will be quite a change for me. To tell you the truth, I would love to pursue a Masters of Theology (Th.M.), which is a step beyond my present degree and allows specialization. However, further degrees would require a full-time commitment and probable career move, and it simply does not seem practical for me at this time.

So, for the time being, my academic pursuits will be independent of any institution. There are several subjects and inquiries that I would like to pursue, and graduation will allow me the time to do so. For now, though, I’ll probably take some books off of my shelf that I have been intending to read for a while but prevented by school assignments.

Hopefully, more blogging to come soon. Stay tuned.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Books, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

