Kindle Touch Bible


My wife gave me a Kindle Touch for Christmas, and it has been a fun gift. My reading list for class has kept me tied up with physical books, so I think that she has used it more than I have. But, maybe I’ll get some more time to read it in the future. I’ve downloaded several cheap/free books that I would like to read at some point including some Shakespeare and Dostoevsky. I’ve also downloaded some religious works from the early church fathers, Aquinas, Luther and Calvin, and I hope to read through them in the future.

The greatest use I have found for the Kindle so far has been as a Bible. I have taken it to church for this purpose several times.

One of the most obvious benefits is its ability to carry an entire library in such a small place. I can carry several Bibles in different languages. I would like to get some more versions, but for now I’m using the free ones. I regularly use the English Standard Version, and fortunately, it’s one of the free ones on Amazon. I have also found the Holman Christian Standard Bible, which is another good translation.

I was a little worried that I would not be able to get to passages as quickly as before. However, I have found it to have fast navigation, comparable to a physical Bible, if not faster. The first menu allows you to navigate to individual books. At the beginning of each book, there is a menu that allows you to go to a specific chapter. If you are at the beginning of a book or chapter, a single swipe will allow you to go to a contiguous book/chapter.

Digital libraries are putting some good tools at our fingertips. Jessica uses YouVersion on her iPhone, and it’s even more robust than the Kindle (more versions and tools although with a smaller screen). All in all, I’ve enjoyed Kindle’s digital Bible. It’s been helpful at church. I’ve yet to take it into the pulpit, but who knows what the future holds.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

