Model Behavior


I was encouraged to have stumbled upon this article about Kylie Bisutti on Fox News. Kylie was a Victoria Secret model who quit her job because it was incompatible with her Christian profession. Notice some of her remarks below, although the full article is worth reading if you get a chance.

Victoria’s Secret was my absolutely biggest goal in life, and it was all I ever wanted career-wise. I actually loved it while I was there, it was so much fun and I had a blast. But the more I was modeling lingerie, and lingerie isn’t clothing, I just started becoming more uncomfortable with it because of my faith. I’m Christian, and reading the Bible more, I was becoming more convicted about it.

My body should only be for my husband and it’s just a sacred thing. I didn’t really want to be that kind of role model for younger girls because I had a lot of younger Christian girls that were looking up to me and then thinking that it was okay for them to walk around and show their bodies in lingerie to guys.

Another statement by Mrs. Bisutti can be found on Live31.org entitled, “I Quit Being A Victoria’s Secret Model To Become A Proverbs 31 Wife.” Again, the whole statement is worth reading, but I have an excerpt below that stuck out to me.

The Lord knocked me off my feet and showed me where to find true happiness and self worth. How to be truly beautiful (which has NOTHING to do with external beauty) and most importantly how to truly live a life for Him and His glory and not my own. As I studied the word more, I desired to be more Christ like in the way that I was living. I wanted to be a better example to young women. I wanted to be the wife that God made me to be and the one my husband deserved. (we were recently married before the whole Victoria’s Secret thing happened) I wanted to be honoring to the Lord in all things. So, I stopped modeling lingerie, and skimpy bathing suits. I told myself I would never be on a men’s magazine again, and I decided to be more modest in the way that I dressed. I don’t want to be known as a sex symbol or lingerie model. I desire to be known as a woman who fears the Lord…

I love this story. Victoria Secret is one of the highest profile places for models, so I’m sure the decision was incredibly difficult. But her commitment to Christ, her husband and others demanded a change. There are several things that I appreciate about her example. She understood that a commitment to Christ demands difficult changes in the way we live. She discovered that modesty is a principle that naturally arises from an investigation in Scripture. She realized that there are natural boundaries in marriage and her body is reserved for her husband. She has experienced the power of her example, positively and negatively. Above all, she desires to give glory to God in her words and deeds. These are principles I want guiding my life, and these are attitudes I want to teach to my girls. I commend them to every Christian for consideration. It is truly model behavior.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Ethics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Model Behavior

  1. Joel Ellis says:

    Very powerful. Thanks for sharing the story.

  2. Lydia says:

    What a huge statement of your faith in Gods word, and more than that, it seems to show that she’s truly studying What the bible says, and not just claiming Christianity as her way of life without living it. Makes me think about what things in my life I should give up to be a better example.

  3. Joy says:

    Bravo! Woman of faith!! Your commitment and example of how a young woman should behave is a very rare thing today. Kind of like the Proverb, her price is far above rubies. God bless you in your life as you walk with Him.

  4. tonycook says:

    Her story is personally very helpful for me in parenting my teenage son, who is being assailed on all fronts by the world at the moment. Kylie’s decision, in the context of the world she inhabits, is huge. Hugely courageous and hugely influential. I am very grateful to her and look forward to thanking her when we meet in God.

Leave a Reply

