New Year’s Resolutions 2011


Jessica and I were discussing our New Year’s resolutions for the year. I feel ambivalent about New Year’s resolutions, as do many people I guess. There’s something inside us that yearns to better ourselves, to put away bad habits, and to set goals and accomplish them. Yet, New Year’s resolutions are more often an exercise in futility. They ingrain in many the hopelessness of actually improving, because we far too often set goals and fail to keep them (year after year after year).

Part of me wants to say, “What’s the point!” Part of me feels like I’m giving up on improvement if I don’t at least make an effort. Some years I make more of an effort at these resolutions than others. I try to never indulge a bad habit, waiting for the New Year to come before I make a resolution. If I see something I need, I try to set my mind to it when I see the problem. However, New Year’s is a good time for a good self-evaluation. I can always use that.

Examine yourselves, to see whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Or do you not realize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?- unless indeed you fail to meet the test! (2 Cor. 13:5).

This year, our goals mainly revolve around time management and trying to make the most of the time. The biggest killer of our time is the TV. So, instead of watching a single show every night of the week, we are going to try to watch TV no more than twice a week (a show for Jessica and I to watch and a night for family movie time). We accomplish so much more and get to bed on time more often when we don’t even turn the TV on. Life is about so much more, anyway, so we usually feel better when we’re not watching as much TV.

15 Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise,  16 making the best use of the time, because the days are evil (Eph. 5:15-16).

That’s our goal, and hopefully, we’ll stick to it. If any readers want to hold us accountable, feel free to ask us later in the year if we have been keeping this up. Accountability goes a long way in achieving goals.

Happy New Year everyone!

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s Resolutions 2011

  1. Darleen says:

    When we went on our date the other night it was such a great time to reflect on how we want to move forward as individuals, as a couple, and as a family in 2011. We set some good goals this year and I’m hopeful we can accomplish them. I think it’s important to set goals you have to work at BUT also goes that are completely attainable. Thanks for sharing Ephesians 5. Great to remember!

Leave a Reply

