End of Semester Readings


I’m done with another semester!  There’s always such relief when I finish my last test for a class.  I took two classes this semester, and that’s probably the last time that I do that again.  It was a long and busy semester.

So, now comes the fun. I get to pick the books I want to read over the next few weeks. After studying in class, so many interesting books are introduced, but there’s no time to read them with the regular readings required in class.  So, here’s some books that I’m hoping to read over the break.  As usual, I don’t get to all of them, but most of these are short books, so maybe I’ll read quite a few.

  1. I’m almost finished with the third installment of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. I have to get this in before catching the movie, a movie I will hopefully see over Christmas break.
  2. After reading the first half of this book last break, I plan to finish the second half of Reviving the Ancient Faith, by Richard Hughes.  The book looks at the history of churches of Christ, tracing the elements of primitivism and apocalypticism, an outlook characterized by a recognition of the Sovereignty of God and the preeminence of the kingdom of God in the affairs of people.
  3. Life Together, by Dietrich Bonhoeffer – a classic on Christian community from one of the deepest, theological thinkers of the 20th century.  This book was written in the underground seminary at Finkenwalde, established during the reign of the Third Reich in Nazi Germany.
  4. Crunchy Cons, by Rod Dreher.  This was a recommended book in my Ethics class from a year ago.  The subtitle reads, “How Birkenstocked Burkeans, gun-loving organic gardeners, evangelical free-range farmers, hip homeschooling mamas, right-wing nature lovers, and their diverse tribe of countercultural conservatives plan to save America (or at least the Republican Party).”  Check out this excerpt at NPR.
  5. The Life You’ve Always Wanted, by John Ortberg.  This is a book on spiritual disciplines.
  6. An Eye for an Eye: The Place of Old Testament Ethics Today, by Christopher J. H. Wright.  This is one of the first books by my new favorite author.  Old Testament ethics – fun stuff.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

